BGT series to kick start from February 9 | Azad Times

1 month ago 37
Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook

Azad Times News Desk.

Border Gavaskar Trophy popularly known as the BGT is back this February 9. The contest between two mighty teams of World Cricket India and Australia combat each other in the toughest format of the game – Test Cricket.

The history between these teams goes back to the early years of the Post-Independence era of India. India’s first away tour was to the land of Kangaroos. The series between the two nations however was not frequent and had no proper series structure until 1996. The Ashes was the only popular Test Cricket iconic series that existed until then.

In 1996, the series was given the name, BGT (Border-Gavaskar Trophy), named after the two former skippers of both nations respectively. The series consists of four test matches. The winner bags the trophy and if the series ends in a tie, the trophy will be retained by the defending champions.

India had never won a test series on Australian soil, but under Virat Kohli’s captaincy, India managed to do that consistently twice in the last two tours. The series is one of the most celebrated contests in International Cricket.

Both teams have been equally successful over the decades, but India is the successful side with 10 wins. India’s epic test series was 2020-21 BGT and this will go down in the history as the greatest away wins of all time.

Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook
HTML smaller font

Azad Times.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a Syndicated Feed and has not been created or edited By Azad Times Staff.

This is the title of the web page
This is the title of the web page