Lokesh slams 152, gives Karnataka 2nd victory in Nagesh Trophy | Azad Times

1 month ago 38
Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook

Azad Times News Desk.

Belgavi, Karnataka: Lokesh slammed a brilliant 152 to help Karnataka beat West Bengal by 119 runs and register their second consecutive victory in Group B of the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy National T20 Cricket for the Blind being played here at the KSCA ground. In the other group match, Uttar Pradesh beat Goa by 15 runs in a close encounter aided by an unbeaten century by Chandan to start the tournament with a win.

In the first match of the group, Karnataka were sent into bat by West Bengal. Karnataka openers Lokesh and Magunta Sai scored freely and punished the Bengal bowling attack. They stitched together a first-wicket partnership of 167 runs to give the hosts a brilliant start. Magunta Sai was dismissed for 60 runs of 41 balls. Lokesh continued to punish the bowlers and took the total for Karnataka to 252/3 in their 20 overs. Suman Ghosh took a wicket for West Bengal. In reply West Bengal could not create any momentum to their innings as Karnataka bowlers held tight lines, giving the batters no opportunity to score.

Nasiruddin Ahamed (56) and Prasenjit Maity (46) offered some resistance. In the end, Bengal’s innings finished at 133/4 in 20 overs. His Divine Grace Shree Chandrashekhar Shivacharya Swamiji- Hukkeri Hiremath Belagavi presented the Man of the Match award and blessed the players. Shri Mahantesh Patil Consultant Head – AQUES Belagavi and Dr Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar, Founder and Managing Trustee of Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled & President, Cricket Association for the Blind in India joined the post-match presentation and congratulated the players.

In the second match of the group, Goa won the toss and opted to field. Uttar Pradesh openers Chandan and Dinesh Kumar put on a 52-run partnership. UP then lost momentum as they lost 3 wickets in quick succession but Chandan held on to one end and kept scoring runs. He created small partnerships with his partners and reached his century. He helped UP post a score of 194/6 in 20 overs and remained unbeaten on 122 of 70 balls with the help of 16 boundaries. Sandip Ghuge, Vikas Bansode and Aftaf Patel scalped a wicket each for Goa. In reply, Goa were placed well at 123/4 at the halfway point of the innings. The UP bowlers found the rhythm and did not allow the Goa batters to score easily resulting in Goa losing wickets at regular intervals. In the end, Goa could only manage 179/8 in their 20 overs. Aftaf Patel top-scored for Goa with 46 runs. Shaukat Ali scalped 2 wickets for UP.

Tomorrow’s Matches
Karnataka vs Maharashtra
Uttar Pradesh vs West Bengal

Read more:

Report of Inauguration: Group B Nagesh Trophy Nat’l T20 Cricket

Chandigarh tops Group F on Day 3 of Nagesh T20 Cricket Trophy

Manipur stuns Railways, Ch’garh has second win in Nagesh Trophy

Wins by Chandigarh, Railways open Cricket Tourney for the Blind

Karnataka hands Kerala 10 Wicket defeat, takes 4th Indusind Bank Nagesh Trophy For The Blind

Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook
HTML smaller font

Azad Times.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a Syndicated Feed and has not been created or edited By Azad Times Staff.

This is the title of the web page
This is the title of the web page