Sangh parivar enters Mangalore University Ganeshotsav row | Azad Times

3 weeks ago 34
Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook

Azad Times News Desk.

WhatsApp Image 2023 09 10 at 10.45.14 AM 1

Photo Credit : News Karnataka

Mangaluru: A significant demonstration is underway protesting the Vice-Chancellor of Mangalore University, with participation from RSS leader Kalladka Prabhakar Bhat and others at Asaigoli Maidan in Mangaluru.
BJP, ABVP, and Sangh Parivar groups are demonstrating their protest against the university’s decision by conducting prayers and devotional songs. Initially, the University Vice-Chancellor, Jayaraj Amin, declined to celebrate Ganeshotsav at the university’s Mangala auditorium. However, after the controversy, he granted permission for Ganeshotsav celebrations under the supervision of hostel wardens, subject to certain conditions.
There is still ongoing confusion among Sangh Parivar organizations regarding permission issues. Consequently, they have decided to hold Ganeshotsav celebrations through protests. For the past few years, Ganeshotsav was traditionally celebrated at Konaje University in Mangaluru, funded by the Student Welfare Department. However, following an informal directive from Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, instructions were issued to refrain from organizing religious programs. Vice-Chancellor Jayaraj Amin has also instructed against celebrating Ganeshotsav at Mangala Auditorium this year. Furthermore, Jayaraj Amin has written a letter to the government about this matter. Today, many Sangh Parivar groups are expressing their protest through devotional songs (bhajans), condemning these actions and decisions.

Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Google News-EN Google News-KN Telegram Facebook
HTML smaller font

Azad Times.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a Syndicated Feed and has not been created or edited By Azad Times Staff.

This is the title of the web page
This is the title of the web page